News Update, Congress 2016

Follow the experience of our members in Calgary on our blog!

Congratulations to our sponsored bloggers, Vanessa Quiring & Laura Larsen.

For more information on the annual meeting, check out our news page.

Social Event: Congress 2016

takes place on May 29 at 7PM. Meet us at the Kilkenney Irish Pub, #500-3630 Brentwood Rd NW. Calgary, AB. The space is wheelchair-accessible.


(lunch provided!) is scheduled for June 1, 11:45 to 12:45 in Science B-142. See you then!

Follow our committee

on Twitter! @CEDGSC Use the hashtag #CHASHC2016 for up to date social media updates on the event!

FYI: The preliminary program for the 2016 meeting is online and available for download by clicking here!

GSC Student Representatives:

◊ Geoff Bil,University of British Columbia,(geoffbil (at)

◊ Stuart Barnard, University of Calgary, (swbarnar (at)

◊ Sara dos Santos, Carleton University, (dos.sara (at)

◊ Julie Perrone, Concordia University, (julieperrone (at)

◊ Marjorie Hopkins, Guelph University, (mhopkins (at)

◊Stephen Margarit, Lakehead University, (slmargar (at)

◊ Krista Barclay, University of Manitoba, (barclayk (at)

◊ Mike Commito, McMaster University, (commitma (at)

◊ Sean Graham, University of Ottawa, (sean.graham (at)

◊ Jacinthe Archambault, Université du Québec a Montréal, (jaarcham (at)

◊ Patrick Corbeil, Queen's University (patrick.corbeil (at)

◊ Dustin McNichol, University of Saskatchewan (djm931 (at)

◊ Ron Verzuh, Simon Fraser University, (rverzuh (at)

◊ Jennifer Levin Bonder, University of Toronto, (jennifer.bonder (at)

◊ Meaghan Beaton, Trent University, (meaghanbeaton (at)

◊ Derek Murray, University of Victoria (murraydj (at)

◊ Jonathan Crossen, University of Waterloo, (jcrossen (at)

◊ Dan Heidt, University of Western Ontario, (dheidt (at)

◊ Whitney Wood, Wilfrid Laurier University, (wood0688(at)

◊ Michael Akladios, York University, (michaekakladios (at)

Welcome Graduate Student Committee Members!

CHA logo

The Graduate Students' Committee (GSC) is an affiliated committee of the Canadian Historical Association and serves the interests of all history graduate students in Canada. It gathers and distributes information for students on graduate programs, scholarships, conferences, job opportunities, research resources, and the Canadian Historical Association.

Composed entirely of graduate students, the GSC represents the interests of graduate students, and holds a voting seat, on the CHA Council. For more information on the composition of the GSC and how you can join us go to Join the GSC .

In order to fulfill its mandate the GSC has created this website and the CHA-GRAD Listserv. This website contains information on scholarships, graduate history conferences, careers in history, and research resources. We will expand upon these features and add new ones in the future.

The CHA-GRAD Listserv (discussion group) was established to allow history students to share information and ideas relevant to their interests and concerns. If you are aware of any new conferences, job opportunities, scholarships, wish to seek information on a research topic, or wish to discuss a matter which you feel should be brought to the attention of the CHA Council by the GSC, we invite you to please post it on the CHA-GRAD Listserv.

GSC Executive for 2015-2016:

  • Co-Chair: Jasmine Proteau, University of Otttawa (proteaujasmine(at)
  • Co-Chair: Joanna Pearce, York University (jlp(at)

    Treasurer: Daniel Simeone, McGill University (daniel.simeone(at)

    Webmaster: Émilie Pigeon, York University (pigeone (at) )

    Representative to the CHA Council: Marc-André Gagnon

To fill a vacancy:

  • Representatives are generally selected in history departments (by election or otherwise) and are tasked with forwarding communications from the GSC to their peers. If you are interested in becoming a representative at an institution that does not yet have one, please Contact Us and nominate yourself today!

    Student representatives in affiliated Committees:

    • ◊ Political History Group: Robert Talbot (robert_james_talbot (at)
      ◊ Canadian Committee on Women's History: Alison Norman (alisonenorman(at)

Student Representative Vacancies:

  • University of Alberta
  • Dalhousie University
  • Laurentian University
  • McGill University
  • Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Université de Moncton
  • Université de Montréal
  • University of Northern British Columbia
  • University of New Brunswick
  • University of Regina
  • Saint Mary's University
  • Université de Sherbrooke
  • University of Windsor