Upcoming events:

Grad Student Social @ CHA Annual Meeting: June 2nd at 7pm at the Canoe Brewpub, 450 Swift Street, Victoria BC.

Elections of the Graduate Student Committee & Annual GSC Meeting: 5pm Monday, June 3rd, Clearihue A308 @University of Victoria.

For more information, check out our News page

GSC Student Representatives:

◊ Geoff Bil,University of British Columbia,(geoffbil (at) interchange.ubc.ca)

◊ Stuart Barnard, University of Calgary, (swbarnar (at)ucalgary.ca)

◊ Sara dos Santos, Carleton University, (dos.sara (at) gmail.com)

◊ Julie Perrone, Concordia University, (julieperrone (at) hotmail.com)

◊ Krista Barclay, University of Manitoba, (barclayk (at) cc.umanitoba.ca)

◊ Mike Commito, McMaster University, (commitma (at) univmail.cis.mcmaster.ca

◊ Sean Graham, University of Ottawa, (sean.graham (at) uottawa.ca)

◊ Jacinthe Archambault, Université du Québec a Montréal, (jaarcham (at) hotmail.com)

◊ Patrick Corbeil, Queen's University (patrick.corbeil (at) queensu.ca)

◊ Dustin McNichol, University of Saskatchewan (djm931 (at) mail.usask.ca)

◊ Ron Verzuh, Simon Fraser University, (rverzuh (at) shaw.ca)

◊ Jennifer Levin Bonder, University of Toronto, (jennifer.bonder (at) utoronto.ca)

◊ Meaghan Beaton, Trent University, (meaghanbeaton (at) gmail.com)

◊ Derek Murray, University of Victoria (murraydj (at) uvic.ca)

◊ Jonathan Crossen, University of Waterloo, (jcrossen (at) uwaterloo.ca)

◊ Dan Heidt, University of Western Ontario, (dheidt (at) uwo.ca)

◊ Whitney Wood, Wilfrid Laurier University, (wood0688(at) mylaurier.ca)

◊ Della Roussin, York University, (droussin (at) yorku.ca)

Welcome to the revamped GSC website!

CHA logo

The Graduate Students' Committee (GSC) is an affiliated committee of the Canadian Historical Association and serves the interests of all history graduate students in Canada. It gathers and distributes information for students on graduate programs, scholarships, conferences, job opportunities, research resources, and the Canadian Historical Association.

Composed entirely of graduate students, the GSC represents the interests of graduate students, and holds a voting seat, on the CHA Council. For more information on the composition of the GSC and how you can join us go to Join the GSC .

In order to fulfill its mandate the GSC has created this website and the CHA-GRAD Listserv. This website contains information on scholarships, graduate history conferences, careers in history, and research resources. We will expand upon these features and add new ones in the future.

The CHA-GRAD Listserv (discussion group) was established to allow history students to share information and ideas relevant to their interests and concerns. If you are aware of any new conferences, job opportunities, scholarships, wish to seek information on a research topic, or wish to discuss a matter which you feel should be brought to the attention of the CHA Council by the GSC, we invite you to please post it on the CHA-GRAD Listserv.

GSC Executive for 2012-2013:

  • Co-Chair: Claudine Polisois, Université Laval (claudine.polisois.1(at) ulaval.ca)
  • Co-Chair: Daniel Ross, York University (dgrdrg(at) yorku.ca)
    Treasurer: Chris Miller, Concordia University
    Webmaster: Émilie Pigeon, York University (pigeone (at) yorku.ca )
    Representative to the CHA Council: Julie Perrone, Concordia University (julieperrone (at) hotmail.com)

To fill a vacancy:

  • If you are interested in becoming a representative at an institution that does not yet have one, please Contact Us

    Student representatives in affiliated Committees:

    • ◊ Political History Group: Robert Talbot (robert_james_talbot (at) hotmail.com)
      ◊ Canadian Committee on Women's History: Alison Norman (alisonenorman(at) gmail.com)

Student Representative Vacancies:

  • University of Alberta
  • Dalhousie University
  • Guelph University
  • Lakehead University
  • Laurentian University
  • McGill University
  • Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Université de Moncton
  • Université de Montréal
  • University of Northern British Columbia
  • University of New Brunswick
  • University of Regina
  • Saint Mary's University
  • Université de Sherbrooke
  • University of Windsor