In brief

If you are a graduate student member of the Canadian Historical Association, you are a member of the Graduate Student Committee. Here is some information on what that means.

Membership to the Graduate Students' Committee

The Graduate Students' Committee (GSC) is composed of all graduate students who are members of the CHA. The GSC meets once per year during the CHA's annual meeting. The annual GSC meeting is an opportunity for all GSC members to share their concerns with the executive, and to be informed of major developments in the field of history or in realms that particularly influence the wellbeing and interests of graduate students in history.

We invite students to become involved in the executive of the Graduate Students' Committee, which is composed of four members: two Co-chairs, a Treasurer, and a Website Manager.

In addition to attending and presenting any concerns that graduate students may have at CHA Council meetings, the Co-Chairs gather and distribute any information of interest to history graduate students in Canada. The Treasurer is responsible for maintaining the GSC bank account and financial records, making deposits, and issuing cheques. The Website Manager is responsible for the maintenance of this site, responding to queries and advice about the site, and adding new links, resources, and new pages as required.

Each position is for two years, from July 1 to June 30. If no one volunteers to replace an outgoing member the said member may remain in their position for another year if he/she desires.

When a member's tenure is due to expire, the GSC will post a request for a volunteer on the CHA-GRAD Listserv, H-Canada, H-Grad, and through our university representatives. If you would be interested in volunteering, contact us here. Please tell us a little bit about yourself and what you would do as a member of the Executive.

If no one else volunteers then you will be assigned to the position effective July 1. If more than one person volunteers we will hold an election. The vote is undertaken via online ballot. We will post all of the candidates and their comments on our Ballot Page and ask all subscribers to the CHA-GRAD Listserv to read all of the information about the candidate(s), then vote for a candidate online. The votes will be counted by two members of the executive and we will notify everyone of the results.

NOTE: To be on the Executive you must be a member of the CHA. You can find out how to join the CHA here.

Becoming a member of the executive is not the only way to be involved. Sign up for the CHA-GRAD Listserv, become a university representative, come to our annual meeting at the Congress, and, above all, share your ideas.

En bref:

Si vous ètes étudiant diplômé et membre de la Société historique du Canada, vous êtes membre du Comité des étudiants diplômés. Voici quelques informations détaillant ce que cela veut dire.

Devenez membre du Comité des étudiants diplômés

Le Comité des étudiants diplômés est composé de tous les étudiants et étudiantes de deuxième et troisième cycles qui sont membres de la Société historique du Canada. Son exécutif comprend quatre membres: deux co-président(e)s, un trésorier ou une trésorière, et un ou une webmestre (gestionnaire du site web).

En plus d'assister aux réunions du Conseil de la SHC et d'y faire valoir la perspective des étudiants diplômés, les co-présidents recueillent et distribuent une variété de renseignements qui concernent les étudiants de deuxième et de troisième cycle en histoire au Canada. Le trésorier est pour sa part chargé de tenir le compte bancaire et des étas financiers du CÉD, de faire les dépôts et d'émettre les chèques. Enfin, le webmestre est responsable de l'entretien de ce site, de répondre aux questions et aux suggestions qui s'y rapportent, et d'y ajouter de nouveaux liens, ressources, et de nouvelles pages lorsque nécessaire.

La durée du mandat de chaque membre de l'exécutif est de deux ans, du 1er juillet au 30 juin. Si personne ne se porte volontaire pour remplacer un membre sortant, ce dernier peut demeurer en fonction pour une autre année si celui-ci le désire.

Lorsque le mandat d'un membre vient à terme, le CÉD sollicite des candidatures sur la liste de diffusion électronique (CHA_GRAD Listserv), dans les forums H_Canada et H_Grad, et par l'entremise des représentants universitaires. Les intéressés peuvent nous contacter ici. Nous vous prions de nous parler un peu de vous et de nous dire ce que vous feriez en tant que membre de l'exécutif.

Si un seul candidat se présente, celui-ci entrera en fonction dès le 1er juillet. Une élection aura lieu si plus d'une personne se porte volontaire. Nous avons un système qui permet aux électeurs de soumettre leurs bulletins de vote en ligne. Nous afficherons la liste des candidats et leurs commentaires sur la page des élestions, tout en invitant les abonnés à la liste CHA_GRAD à voter pour un candidat. Le CÉD se chargera de publier les résultats.

NB: Afin de pouvoir siégai sur l'exécutif du CÉD, il faut être membre de la SHC. Pour savoir comment y adhérer, appuyez ici.

Bien entendu, il est possible de s'impliquer au sein du CÉD sans pour autant siéger sur l'exécutif. Abonnez-vous au CHA_GRAD Listserv, devenez un représentant universitaire, assistez à notre réunion annuelle lors du Congrès et, avant tout, partagez vos idées!